G.I. Joe ROC- Cobra Crimson Hydra

I was lucky enough to find this on clearance a couple of years ago for 5 bucks!These vehicles quickly began to see the clearance aisles of most department stores in bunches as I was also able to snag up a Gunship and Ice Dagger for a similar price.Lets take a look at the box art.I keep all of the instructions as well as vehicle boxes just to be able to look at ,or if one day I decide to sell anything off,i’ll have the package it came in.One day i’ll hopefully find a way to display them because as of now there just taking up alot of space.

DSCN8944

DSCN8947

The Hydra is a nice looking ship and looks even better when the back wings are fully extended and the two side missile compartments are opened up.I was out of the Joe loop for a while and jumped back on after the ROC  film,so when I initially picked this bad boy up I wasn’t aware that the same ship had been released for the Spy Troops line in a more realistic black color. I for one think  the crimson red color is better suited for a Cobra vehicle.

DSCN8950

DSCN8962The cockpit is a bit bland but I do like the retractable  landing gear.The underbelly of the ship is it’s strong point as it features an amazingly cool little escape pod that ejects and can hold an additional figure.I would have had a freaking ball with this toy as a kid.

DSCN8955

DSCN8959

DSCN8964One of my favorite features on the Crimson Hydra is the escape pod!This small craft fits snug under the Hydra and ejects with the pull of a trigger.Once ejected,there are wings on either side of  it that retract.

DSCN8966

DSCN8969

DSCN8972

DSCN8973

DSCN8976

DSCN8977

 

The figure included with this set is the Cobra Aero Viper.Not the flashiest of figures but sports some pretty cool web gear and a nice helmet with transparent visor.

RSCN8981

DSCN8948

 

 

 

 

6 responses to “G.I. Joe ROC- Cobra Crimson Hydra

    • Thanks Michael.I’m starting to regret not taking any pics of Crimson Firefly sitting in the Hydra’s cockpit.I may have to try that out to see how it looks.

Leave a Reply

