Custom Backdrops and Dioramas

Lately i’ve been spending some time on some pretty cool sites,trying to familiarize myself with the world of customizing and building dioramas.I found a great site that gives a small tutorial on how to create your own dioramas and backdrops out of pink insulation foam.I immediately took to it and now i’m hooked.Basically what you do is draw your design on the foam and then retrace everything so that you leave an impression,giving it depth.I free handed the cracks and walls  and used a ruler to make the horizontal brick lines and door.The floor was made the same way.After everything has been retraced you can prime it with black paint and ultimately when that dries, give it the final paint job. Here is my first ever foam backdrop diorama.Let me know what you think!

Backdrop

Floor

Backdrop and Floor Painted

Finished Product

9 responses to “Custom Backdrops and Dioramas

  1. Looks fantastic Tony! I have been using these printed sheets of paper i found at the craft/hobby/scrapbook to the same effect. They work pretty well and you can find different images to use and they are cheap too most of them cost less than .75 cents.

  2. Nice dioramas and toys (of course, great photos) ! I just wish i’d be able to build some by my own for my sons and myself soon. Also wish we can buy good quailty toys easily at reasonable price like you guys in the u.s.a, and also to find the place where i can obtain lot of o-rings to fix our old g.i. joes. Things doesn’t come too easily at that here in Indonesia. keep up the good work!

    • Thanks for the kind words Ken :)They are much appreciated.I hear you can buy O-Rings in the plumbing section of your local hardware store.You have to get the right size though.

Leave a Reply

